

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 2, 2017

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Wonhwa Cho to Receive 2018 Avanti Award in Lipids

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Wonhwa Cho, Distinguished Professor of Chemical Biology, University of Illinois, Chicago, will receive the Avanti Award in Lipids. Cho will be honored at the Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Frnacisco, California, on Tuesday, February 20, during the Awards Symposium. He will also give a short talk at that time.

Cho is being recognized for his pioneering work in the study of lipid binding domains, his innovative development of lipid-specific fluorescent sensors for real-time imaging in cells, and his contributions to understanding the role of cholesterol in lipid remodeling. Avanti Polar Lipids, Inc., established this award to recognize an investigator for outstanding contributions to our understanding of lipid biophysics.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Iane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Joanna Swain

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers Bert Tanner

Education Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich